DEVA Vegan Omega-3 DHA is a quality product derived from algae and packaged in non-animal softgels made from carrageenan and starch. This makes a great non-animal alternative to DHA rich fish oils and can be confidently used by vegetarians and vegans alike. Vegans may be particularly prone to diets low in long chain omega-3 fatty acids (i.e. DHA & EPA) unless they are careful*.
DHA is a long chain polyunsaturated omega-3 oil. It is an essential fatty acid, meaning that the body doesn't produce it by itself and it must be obtained in the diet. DHA is one of the prominent essential fatty acids in the brain and in the retina.
The Omega-3 DHA oil used in Vegan DHA Softgels comes from microalgae which has been grown on land (outside of the ocean) using drinkable water. The softgels are made from non-animal materials as well.
DEVA Omega-3 DHA is 100% vegan, vegetarian and is certified by the Vegan Society, the non-profit organization that actually invented the word "vegan".